Get to know Mick Van Dijke

There is not much left to be said about the debut season of Jumbo-Visma Development Team. The team has already graduated two riders to the World Tour, but rather frighteningly, after competing at such a high level all season, there are many more future top-tier riders already sitting on the roster. When you add that to the current WorldTour team’s ridiculous strength, you begin to see the possibilities they have for a terrific future.

One such rider is Mick Van Dijke. Runner-up in the U23 Dutch RR, 9th in GP Kranj, 14th in Ster Van Zwolle and, just after our interview, part of the Dutch dominance at the Orlens Nations GP, the only round of the UCI Nations Cup for U23s to go ahead this year. Olav Kooij won the RR after the Dutch took the TT, and Mick was 2nd overall.

I managed to interview Mick recently, and now you too can get to know the second year U23, who also races mountain bike too, better. He was immediately strong after the return to racing, so we started with how he kept his shape so good.

Displaying Tijdrit training development team (18).jpg

“Of course the corona virus cancelled a lot of races. But in the mean time, I kept on training. In the
few races where I started, I did a good job and showed myself in the front. I think I learned a lot this
year, as it’s my first year as a road cyclist. I always was a mountainbiker and it’s nice to see that I’m
learning a lot as a road cyclist and that process keeps going.”

Mick tells me that it’s impossible after such a short road career for him to define his strengths and weaknesses. But he does feel a course like the nationals, wit multiple ascents of the short but steep VAMberg was very good for him.

“That is difficult to say after six races on the road. At the moment I think I’m a rider for the classic
work with short hills for example.”

Despite being older than a good few of his teammates (a lot of the squad are first years), Mick says that at U23 level, this doesn’t matter in terms of experience. But he does like to try and motivate all of his teammates, I must say he sounds a really good guy to have on the team bus.

“I think I’m a bit of a motivator, as I like to motivate my teammates. But on the other hand it’s difficult
to say what my role is in the team. We’re all U23 riders and we’re learning every day. I don’t feel that
I’m a year older than most of the guys in our team. We are one team and there’s no such thing as a
hierarchy or something like that.”

For Mick, his transition to road and the team has been made easier with his twin brother Tim also being on the team. Tim is a CX rider, so there are differences, and, to avoid future confusion, Mick thankfully gave some good ways to tell the two apart.


“The nice thing about having a twin brother, is that your best friend is always with you. Of course it’s a
bit scary and exciting to go to a new team and meet new people, but that’s easier when your twin
brother is there with you. As long as we are active in the world of cycling, we’re together in one
team. It’s nice that we could make the transfer to Jumbo-Visma Development Team together last
year. But of course it’s also good to split up sometimes and do our own thing. In the winter Tim is
doing cyclo cross and I’m doing mountainbiking, so we’re not together all the time of course.
It’s not easy to tell Tim and me apart for a person who doesn’t know us. If you look closely, I have a
little scar on my chin. Next to that, our bike positions are not the same. Tim is a bit smaller than me.”

Displaying Tijdrit training development team (17).jpg
The brothers Van Dijke

Mick was narrowly bested by Stijn Daemen for the national U23 RR title but his ride was fantastic to say the least and he was mightily strong. When you consider he wasn’t 100% before the race, his ride becomes all the more special. He sees complete pride in his silver medal, as he should.

“I was a bit injured before the start of the race. I didn’t think I could compete for the win here. In the
final I maybe did a bit too much. That’s why I fell short in the final. As I said: I didn’t think I could
compete for the win here, but in the end wanted to win of course. But if I’m honest, I can see that
I’m very proud on my silver medal, especially when you think of my lack of road race experience.”

Mick’s road season is pretty much over, with only a few left if there is any. His goals for the remainder of the season are mostly on the mountainbike, with a chance to nab the Dutch title next month a massive target.

“I just want to give it all in every race I do. There aren’t much races left. I’m doing a few road races,
before I switch to our mountainbike and prepare for the championships in October.”

Like most Classics prodigies, the Queen of the Classics captures Mick’s heart. At 1.9m tall per his Pro Cycling Stats page, he certainly has the build for it.

“That would be Paris-Roubaix. There is no race like that. I really like the total ambience of that race. It’s very tough and the strong riders always make the race their own and give it all on the cobblestones.
That’s just a very cool race.”

Mick Van Dijke’s debut season as a full time roadie has been super promising. A full season of racing (hopefully!) in 2021 can only see him get better. A key part of a very strong team going forward, his future is so bright.

Displaying Trainingskamp Alicante (77).jpg

I wish to thank Mick for taking the time to answer my questions and I wish him all the best for the future and beyond. I also wish to thank Willem Bok at Team Jumbo-Visma Development Team for coordinating the interview. Mick’s Instagram is linked here.

Leave a comment