Get to know Henok Mulubrhan

Heading into his third season at this level, his first with Team NTT Continental, much was expected of Henok Mulubrhan, and the Eritrean has not disappointed at all.

After forming a deadly partnership with teammate and fellow Eritrean Natnael Tesfatsion in the early season races in Africa, Henok has returned to Europe after the lockdown ended and was 11th overall at the U23 Giro d’Italia last week.

Despite having another season of eligibility, Henok is looking to secure a pro team for 2021, but first he has some more nice races to end his season that he is targeting first.

Henok Mulubrhan (@henokmulubrhan) | Twitter
Credit: Henok’s Twitter account

“My journey from Africa to here started in June, because of the COVID-19 I couldn’t travel, so I came here to Europe in June. But in 2020, I rode Tropicale Amissa Bongo and finished 5th on GC, and then Tour of Rwanda I was 2nd overall after three stages before Natnael took the leader jersey when he got in a 10 minute breakaway and then I helped him to finish in yellow.”

Henok sees himself as somewhat of an all-rounder, although he climbs very well and has a fast sprint too. He certainly put his climbing legs to good use at the U23 Giro d’Italia, recording a brilliant 11th place overall.

“The last stages of the Giro featured some hard climbs and it was a hard race. It was my first Giro and I was 11th overall. My plan was to finish top ten but I was close and I am happy to finish top 11 here! I hope already some teams are looking at me for next year.”

With another year of eligibility still ahead of him, Henok doesn’t need to turn pro in 2021, but he says that is his big goal, and he is keen to try and find a professional team for 2021. As for a dream pro win, Henok wisely points out that since he has never been a pro before, it is impossible to say what races will be good for him, but he can make a guess.

“I have a plan to be professional for 2021, but I’ve not yet found a contract. Hopefully I will get one. I didn’t race pro before, but I think if I go pro I can target stages and maybe even stage races, those are the events I think can be good for me.”

Even with somewhat little European experience (Henok was also on the UCI’s World Cycling Centre team in 2019), it’s hard to not be impressed with what Henok has achieved so far. He’s a very strong rider, with plenty of punch, which he showed in Rwanda by powering away from the field on a 10% climb on the opening stage. I’m certainly a fan of Mulubrhan’s anyway, you can count me as a member of his bandwagon!

MULUBRHAN, Henok - Your Cycling Photos
Credit: Your Cycling Photos

I wish to thank Henok for taking the time to speak with me and I wish him all the best for the future, as well as his mission to turn pro. You can find Henok on Twitter at @henokmulubrhan.

Leave a comment