Get to know Frederik Rodenberg

After missing the whole of the 2018 season through injury, Denmark’s Frederik Rodenberg returned with a bang in 2019. Three wins for ColoQuick later, including the national U23 RR title, he has signed his first pro contract for the Uno-X team.

Newly promoted to Pro Continental level for the 2020 season, Rodenberg’s final U23 season will be spent balancing road racing with the track, as he forms part of the Danish team pursuit squad for the Olympics.

Shortly into 2020, we called Frederik to find out more about him, his terrific 2019 season and his lofty goals for the 2020 season.

Image result for frederik rodenberg
Credit: Uno-X Cycling Team

“In 2019 I came back from a long injury, about nine months off the bike. I only started training again in February last year. When you consider I had no base miles, that was a pretty good season. I am happy with my year.”

Frederik went on to explain more about his injury and why it took so long for him to get back on his bike. Thankfully, he is clearly back to full fitness.

“In the 2018 season, I injured both my knees. I had an operation, but it didn’t really help things at all. Thankfully, with the year off, things are all good now.”

A fast finisher, Frederik was able to win three times this year. Skive-Lobet and the U23 Eschborn-Frankfurt went to the Dane, and the soon-to-be 22 year old spoke more about the type of rider he is at this moment.

“I am a sprinter. I have a fast finish but I’m heavy, although perhaps not as big in the legs as some of the other big sprinters. In the future I can maybe evolve and try for the Classics and climbs. I can lose some weight in the future I think. But I need the weight just now, since I’m preparing for the team pursuit at the Olympics.”

 

Image result for frederik rodenberg frankfurt
Celebrating the Eschborn-Frankfut win. Credit: radsport-news.com

His third win last year came at the U23 National road race. Whilst he is proud to have won the race, he has a very pragmatic view on his past results, always focusing on the future.

“The national title was a nice win. But it was eight months ago, it doesn’t mean anything now. I have the jersey in the U23s, but I can’t wear it too often this season. I’m not saying it’s nothing, it’s a nice win and I’m proud to wear the jersey, but at the start of each new season you must move on from the past.”

His goals in the summer in Tokyo at the Olympics do make his road season very hard to predict, but whilst he has no road goals, Frederik will be racing on the road a lot in the early part of the season.

“Due to the Olympics, I have no specific targets on the road this year. I will be using road races as part of my build up to the Olympics. I will target some road races as I get into shape, but my best level will be saved for the Olympics. That is all I think about.”

Image result for frederik rodenberg
The Fantastic 4 (aka the Danish Team Pursuit squad (l-r Folsach, Johansen, Larsen and Rodenberg. Credit: Emmanuel Dunand/Ritzau Scanpix

Speaking about his new team, he spoke not just about his transfer, but also why he chose the team and moving up to the Pro Continental level. He is especially keen to battle the world’s biggest sprinters, which his new team will allow him to do.

“I spoke with Uno-X and they were willing to support my Olympic dream, as well as my fellow team pursuiters in Niklas Larsen, Casper Folsach (who has now had to retire with heart issues) and Julius Johansen. I will go full for the road for 2021. I feel it is natural to step up to the next level now as a pro. I needed to evolve and do bigger and better things. It’s a big step up to race against WorldTour guys. But there will be flat races that suit me and I’m excited to butt heads with the biggest sprint names. I don’t have big expectations, but I am looking forward to seeing how I get on.”

Ending the interview in our usual fashion, Frederik spoke about his dream win, selecting arguably the biggest one-day race in the world.

“I’d say the Worlds Road Race. It’s the biggest race, but there’s more that comes with winning that one race. One whole year in the Rainbow jersey. I’d say it’s the biggest race you can win, apart from maybe the Tour de France.”

It’s hard to say watch Frederik Rodenberg this season, given he is so open about the fact he isn’t focusing on the road at all this year. But he is part of a good team on the boards for the Danish national team, and he will also be easy to spot in the U23 races in the national jersey. But for sure this man can win a lot of pro races once he turns his attention fully to the road come 2021.

Image result for frederik rodenberg road win
Credit: Uno-X

U23 Cycling Zone wishes to thank Frederik for taking the time to speak with us, and we wish him all the best for the 2020 season. We also wish to thank Jens Haugland at Uno-X for coordinating the interview. You can follow Frederik on Instagram here.

 

Leave a comment