Get to know Theo Nonnez

Groupama-FDJ created a Continental level team for 2019, playing host to some of the brightest U23 talents in the peloton. The team has recruited from all over Europe, but, as you would expect, they have some pretty promising French riders.

One who has really caught the eye in the opening half of the season is Theo Nonnez. The second year U23 is a very good climber, but has also done a lot of domestique work. Theo gave up some time recently to speak with us exclusively, so readers can get to know him better.

Image result for theo nonnez
Credit: See bottom right of image

“The first part of my season is now over, and I am quite happy with it. For sure it can be better, but I am happy with my progression. There isn’t a really big result, I have done a big job for my teammates. But sometimes when I can ride for myself, I saw that I was able to race with the best U23 riders.”

Theo knows just how fantastic the opportunity to ride for a WorldTour team’s feeder squad is, especially one like Groupama-FDJ, who have such a great record of developing young riders.

“To ride for a team like Groupama-FDJ Continental is an honour, every day when I wear the jersey of the team, I realise the chance that I have. This project is a big opportunity for all of us, and I am really proud to be part of it. We are all here to progress and join the WorldTour team in few years, but we must work really hard for it.”

Just after we spoke, Theo had a great race at the Ronde de l’Isard, taking 5th overall, a superb result. But another elite result we did speak about came at Liege-Bastogne-Liege U23, where his day in the breakaway was rewarded with 4th place.

“In Liege, I wanted to be an actor in the race, and taking part of the breakaway was a good thing for that. Then, in the front, I saw that I was pretty good. But at like 20/30k to the finish, two riders caught us. I was the only one of the break able to follow them. Then I was hoping for a great result, but in the last climb, 3k to go, I had cramps. That was the finish for me. I tried to finish like that but it was really hard, at the finish, it was 4th place for me. I am really happy about my race, I did everything. But I am also disappointed about the result, that’s not what I was hoping for.”

Image result for theo nonnez
Credit: Groupama-FDJ Continental

Despite having shown some very strong climbing legs so far this year, the 19-year-old says his biggest strength is his mental fortitude, a key skills all top tier riders need to possess.

“It’s difficult for me to say what type of rider I am, I think I can be performing in many types of races, but for the moment I have not a real speciality. I just think that my biggest strength is my head, when I want something I give everything for it.”

Speaking about the rest of his season, Theo’s next appointments come at two very different races: Paris-Roubaix Espoirs and the U23 Giro d’Italia.

“Now I am near to start the second part of my season, with many stages races. First I’ll take part of Ronde de l’Isard, after it’s time for Paris Roubaix U23. After a little rest period, I will ride the Baby Giro, then the national championships. I will discover the real mountains! So I hope to be able to play for the victory on some stages, and for sure to progress and help my teammates to take a big result.”

Theo Nonnez is really having a breakout season in 2019, and his climbing performances have been huge for a squad who have no clear GC leader for the biggest U23 stage races. With his confidence growing and his selfless attitude, Theo has begun to show that he has WorldTour potential, and he is on the right team if he wishes to reach the top tier of cycling.

Image result for theo nonnez
Credit: See top right of image

U23 Cycling Zone wishes to thank Theo for taking part in our interview and we wish him all the best for the rest of the season. You can follow Theo on Twitter at @nonnez_t.

Leave a comment