Get to know Alex Baudin

France’s Alex Baudin moved across to Tudor Pro Cycling, formerly known as Swiss Racing Academy, from the AG2R Citroen U23 team at the start of 2022, and it’s fair to say the move has been beneficial for both Alex and his new team.

He’s delivered two UCI wins already, plus two GC podiums, and has become one of the hottest properties in the U23 field. Adept as a climber, he will now turn his head towards the U23 Giro and then probably l’Avenir.

I called Alex just after the team’s change to Tudor Pro Cycling was confirmed and the team should be moving to Pro Team status for 2023. Read on to get to know more about the talented third-year.

Cyclisme. Tour de Bretagne : Alex Baudin à l'heure suisse au Hinglé -  Cyclisme - Le Télégramme
Perfect timing in Bretagne. Credit: Nicolas Creach

“I wasn’t expecting the season to be like this. I expected things to go well when I joined this team and I wanted to do well and explore the potential I knew I had. But I didn’t expect to get the wins I have.

Alex says he is an all-round type of rider, and sees himself being a good GC rider, although more for stage races than Grand Tours.

“I think my biggest strength is that I am an all-round rider, who is good at a lot of things but not the best at any one thing. I need good shape to be able to do everything, and sometimes I miss that last percent to win a sprint or a climb. I think I can be a good GC rider, not for a Grand Tour but for a stage race maybe.”

As the winner of a stage at the Tour de Bretagne, as well as the summit finish at the Istrian Spring Trophy, Baudin knows how to finish various types of races. As well as taking second on the GC on both races, Baudin was 11th and 13th against the pros in both Loire races. He talked me through his wins, which suited his puncheur qualities.

“In Croatia, the finish was nice for me, about an eight-minute effort I think, which is an effort I like. I was really happy to win. In Bretagne, that was also a punchy effort, the lap in L’Hingle was up and down short climbs. I made an effort a few times to drop the others. That type of riding suits me and my skillset.”

Alex Baudin : « J'ai presque eu le temps d'y croire » - Actualité -  DirectVelo
6th on Grand Colombier at last year’s l’Avenir. Credit: See watermark

Given Tudor Pro Cycling will aim to be Switzerland’s first pro team since IAM a few years ago, the magnitude of this opportunity for the team, which only moved to Continental level in 2019, is not lost on Baudin.

“It’s a really good opportunity for the team. It’s fantastic for them and a big reward for the hard work they have done in the last five years, going from an elite Swiss domestic team to a pro team. This means the team is really good, has good staff and riders and everyone wants to move up a level. It’s a result of good teamwork and having a really nice sponsor who believes in the team.”

As Swiss Racing Academy, the team turned Stefan Bissegger and Joab Schneiter pro, as well as developing future pro Mauro Schmid. Alex is not sure if he will remain with the team yet in 2023, or if he will move to be the next successful pro alumni. He still needs more info about the step up before he can make a decision.

“I don’t know yet, it’s not something I have thought about. The season is long and I don’t have any info from the team yet about their future, other than that they will move up. I don’t yet know anything about the staff, the riders, the race program. I need to get that information before I make a decision.”

Alex is currently at altitude before coming down for the Alpes Isere Tour and the U23 Giro. After that, his racing schedule isn’t clear at all.

“I’m now on a training camp at altitude before I will do the Alpes-Isere Tour. That’s five days, a really nice race. After that, I’ll do the U23 Giro d’Italia. After that, I have some ideas but I’m not sure yet, I’m yet to discuss it with my coach.”

Alex Baudin pobjednik u Motovunu, danas zadnja etapa Pazin-Umag | Regional  Express - online magazin
Istrian win. Credit: Regional Express

Given his calendar doesn’t yet go past June, it’s not a massive surprise that his goals also end at the same period. Doing well at the U23 Giro, no matter in what form, is the next big objective. Baudin is one of the men tasked with continuing the team’s success at the race, after two stage wins last year and two straight years with a top ten finish on GC,

“At the Baby Giro, I want to work on my mountain skills at altitude. It’s not something I’ve done before really, but I know I can do well and try to go for the GC. If that doesn’t work, I will try to go for stage wins.”

In a reflection of his skillset, Baudin’s dream pro wins very much take on the stage hunter and one-day racing form that he has demonstrated this season.

“My dream pro win is a stage of the Tour de France. A second win, which I would hold in equal regard, would be Liege-Bastogne-Liege. I did the race recently as a U23, I like the climbs on the course and I think it can be a race for me for the future.”

There is no doubt that Alex Baudin is a massive talent, and if he doesn’t stay with Tudor for 2023, which would be a good place to start his career since he knows the team already, then WorldTour teams will surely have noticed him already. For sure he will be a pro next year one way or another.

Cyclisme. Tour de Bretagne : Alex Baudin s'impose en solitaire et prend les  commandes - Cyclisme - Le Télégramme
Credit: Nicolas Creach

U23 Cycling Zone wishes to thank Alex for taking the time to answer my call, and I wish him all the best for the rest of the season and beyond. You can find the team on Twitter and Instagram. Alex can be found on the same two apps here and here.

Leave a comment