Get to know Lorenzo Milesi

Team DSM often do their recruiting from the junior ranks for their Development team, but they took second-year U23 Lorenzo Milesi from the Beltrami team in Italy for 2022, after the Italian showed some promise in his first year.

Milesi showed some promise in the mountains at the U23 Giro, and got some pro race experience under his belt in 2021. Now, he has joined a very professional set-up, and is looking to grow further as a rider under the tutelage of the Dutch team.

I had a call with Lorenzo as part of Team DSM’s team launch, via the Webex app. You can read on to find out about what Lorenzo and I spoke about.

Lorenzo Milesi in Olanda, il giovane talento di S.Pellegrino si racconta:  "Qui per fare ancora meglio" - La Voce delle Valli
Credit: Team DSM

“Last year, I raced with Beltrami, but there were some problems with the team and some races. I only started riding three years ago. I’ve come to DSM as it was a big opportunity, and the team offers the best place for me to grow, as well as the chance to try and secure a pro contract as I get better.”

Lorenzo had a chance to do some pro races in 2021, as I mentioned, and he hopes he can continue to experience races with and against the WorldTour guys in 2022.

“I hope to do some more pro races, after doing some last year, and I feel they went well. I hope with Team DSM, this smooth transition can continue, and I can be a part of a good and successful team.”

Part of the reason Milesi was attracted to DSM was that he felt there was a real community within the team, having witnessed first hand how the team raced for Henri Vandenabeele at the U23 Giro d’Italia.

“I feel that when you look at Team DSM, you see how all the guys work well together. It is like one single body, and together, everyone is better and can come together to achieve a common goal.”

San Pellegrino, in tre anni dal calcio al grande ciclismo. Milesi inizia  l'avventura in Olanda - Val Brembana Web
Credit: Val Brembana

Assessing his strengths, Lorenzo adds that he could be a good stage racer, showing good recovery powers and the ability to ride in the mountains at the U23 Giro, where he had one top ten, a top fifteen and two top thirty rides in the four hardest stages. But he has identified his TT as an area he wants to work hard on too.

“I saw at the U23 Giro last year that I did well in the last four stages, which were mountainous. A reason to come to DSM was the chance to ride good TT bikes, and really improve in this discipline. I want to work hard on this.”

Lorenzo harbours personal goals, as well as professional goals for 2022. Integrating to the team is a big ambition, as well as getting some results for both himself and his teammates.

“My goal for 2022 is to develop myself and create a strong bond with my teammates and the staff. I want to be part of this big family. I want to work hard for the other guys, whilst also finding some results for myself.”

Repente welcomes Lorenzo Milesi, the new Italian talent of the TT
Credit: Repente

Looking at his dream pro wins, Milesi would love to win the Tour de France, as well as some of the numerous other stage races that are out there.

“I would say the Tour de France, as well as some of the smaller stage races. Those could also be good for me.”

Lorenzo Milesi was a big name in Italy as a junior, and the 19=year-old has huge potential to get even better as he gets older. He’s an exciting prospect, so follow him closely over the coming years.

Team DSM on Twitter: "#WelcomeLorenzo✍🏻🇮🇹 💬"I've raced against quite a  lot of my new teammates, and I know how strong they are so I'm excited to  ride with them and learn from
In action versus the pros. Credit: Team DSM

U23 Cycling Zone wishes to thank Lorenzo for answering my call, and I wish him all the best for the rest of 2022 and beyond. I also wish to thank Team DSM for allowing me to be a part of their media day. You can find Lorenzo on Instagram here.

Leave a comment