Get to know Lucas Towers

Born and raised in the UK, Caja Rural-Alea’s Lucas Towers has taken to life in Spain like a duck to water, effectively calling his new base a second home. And it’s not just a command of the culture and language that make Towers an honorary Spaniard: he has just won Memorial Valenciaga, one of the most prestigious (if not THE MOST) domestic races in Spain.

For a little context, per First Cycling, Lucas is the first foreign winner, and only 6 riders previously have even podiumed that race. Some of those names include former Movistar pro Abner Gonzalez, Polti pro Davide Piganzoli, Giro stage winner Andrey Amador and of course a former Maglia Rosa winner Richard Carapaz.

I caught up with the 20 year old recently to find out some more about him, and he took some time out of his third U23 season to answer my questions.

Lucas Towers se lleva el Memorial Valenciaga
Credit: Javi Colmanero

“I planned with my coach and team quite a steady start to the season. I had my biggest goals in May, so it was all about building up till then and taking a step forward week to week and race to race. Along the way I did manage to pick up a win and a couple podiums and any opportunity to support a teammate, I was on hand. But then arrived the big races in May, I just came off a big training block before Bidasoa, I was in good shape, but just lacked the top few percent to be fighting for the win. But I came away with 5th on GC after 2x5th and 8th on stages. In Santikutz I had a bad day. But in Valenciaga it all came together perfectly.”

Basing yourself in Spain, you clearly need to be good when the road tilts skywards, but thanks to his father’s background, Towers can also be a real threat when the climbs are over too.

“I would say I’m definitely a climber, but definitely prefer riding offensively and being on the attack. I prefer that than being defensive and sitting in, waiting for the final climb. I’ve also learnt a few skills from my dad, who was a British champ moto bike rider, so I’m not afraid to make moves on the descents if the time is right. I’d say my weakness maybe is time trailing. I think I’ve done 11km of time trailing over the last 3 years in Spain. So, I’m for sure out of practice!”

Lucas Towers se impone con autoridad en Laukiz para seguir la racha - Team  Caja Rural - Seguros RGA
Credit: Caja Rural

Lucas is able to live abroad thanks to some help from the Dave Rayner Foundation, a charitable organisation here in the UK that donates money to help riders live out their dreams of racing abroad and chasing a pro contract. Lucas spoke a little on how he has personally benefitted from that support.

“For sure I’m super thankful for the support of the Rayner Foundation. Not only is it some financial support to help buy groceries etc, but more than anything it’s the community of likeminded people that you are surrounded and associated by thanks to the foundation. Also, something that may be overlooked is the exposure on social media thanks to the thousands of followers their accounts have helping the results of us riders to get seen by some teams and important people in the world of cycling.”

Towers has been based in Spain for three years, racing for Previley-Coforma in 2022 before signing with Caja Rural’s feeder team in 2023. So he is well versed now in the way of Spain, speaking the language fluently and successfully integrating himself into life on the team.

“It’s now my third year living in Spain, so year by year I feel even more comfortable living here, to the point now where it even just feels like a second home. I’m completely competent with the language and have made really good friends with teammates and always look forward to having a laugh round the dinner table with the guys in the team house.”

alice (@aliceetowers) / X
Lucas (left) with father Jonny middle and pro sister Alice (right). Credit: Alice Towers

Towers has been a thorn in the local rider’s sides since moving abroad, with a win in Portugal and 6th at Vuelta a Madrid as a first year U23. He backed that up on his new team by winning his first race on Spanish soil in 2023. But he has levelled up again tis year, with his aforementioned 5th on GC at Bidasoa, as well as taking two wins. But a third win, at Valenciaga, was the big one. Lucas talked me through that big day.

“I think if you speak to anyone racing in the Spanish amateur scene, 95% of guys will tell you that they dream of winning Valenciaga. So for me to win it, is a dream for me also. Also, it was my third time racing the race, so it made it even more special as I understood the significance of how big it is. The race has a special atmosphere, it’s in the heart of the Basque Country using some of the most iconic roads and climbs, with some of the most passionate Basque fans lining the side of the road. It’s also the race I’ve been targeting since I started my preseason training in November, making me dig that bit deeper when I’m suffering on those hard training days.”

Caja Rural-Alea take part in the Vuelta a Navarra, the biggest domestic race in their home region, in early June, which will be Towers’s next bog goal in the season. There is also the chance to perhaps do Giro Valle d’Aosta, one of the hardest UCI races at any level, despite being a U23 race. That would also be Lucas’s first UCI race since he was a junior, not counting Nationals.

“My next goal is the Vuelta Navarra, it’s a really important race for the team, as it’s their home race. We a going there with a really strong line up, so I’m hoping that together with the guys, we can do something special. And later into the year, I’m hoping that I’ll have the chance to race Giro Valle d’Aosta along with the team, but we will see.”

Lucas Towers se estrena en Elgoibar - Team Caja Rural - Seguros RGA
Credit: Caja Rural

Lucas has set the goal of eventually going pro, which has been done before by a Brit at Caja Rural thanks to my fellow Glaswegian Calum Johnston. But more immediately, he wants to keep his good form going and win more races, as well as helping his teammates to more success too (6 of his teammates have won races this year so far)

“For sure like any other U23 my goal is to become a pro cyclist and do what I love for a living. But also, from the rest of this year, I hope to continue my good run of form and see if I can take some more wins! But also, I’d like to try and help a few teammates who have committed and sacrificed their races to help me win and play a part in them getting their hands in the air.”

Despite being a climber, Lucas picked one of the races that is not perfectly suited to his skillset, but a race where the smartest and strongest rider, regardless of skillset, can make the biggest difference.

“Milan San Remo, I think it’s got to be the coolest race to win. 300km and it’s the kind of race that can play into anyone’s hands. For example, GC riders like Nibali have won, but also sprinters like Cav too. I like it because it’s more than just the strongest guy wins, it’s all about playing your cards right.”

Lucas Towers has another U23 season available to him in 2025, but if he can maintain the pace and form he has shown so far in 2024, Caja Rural should be jumping at the chance to sign him. Just because you haven’t heard of too many domestic races in Spain, the level is pretty high and Towers is very well regarded domestically. He’s got a great chance to follow elder sister Alice (Canyon//SRAM) and go pro, where I predict a very successful career lies in wait.

Lucas Towers firma una brillante victoria británica en el Memorial  Valenciaga - Zikloland
Lucas (in blue) celebrates his Valenciaga win with his teammates. Credit: Spanish Cycling Federation

U23 Cycling Zone wishes to thank Lucas for taking the time to answer my questions, and I wish him all the best for the rest of the season and beyond. You can find him on both Instagram and Twitter.

Chris Marshall-Bell, with Radio Cycling and Cycling Weekly, did a great article with Lucas, Alice and their father Jonny for Cycling Weekly in February this year. I’ve linked that here for some further reading on a very interesting family.

Leave a comment