Get to know Victor Hannes

Wanty-ReUz-Technord have made a pretty big impact since arribing on the U23 scene in 2023, establishing themselves as one of the sport’s top devo teams, and also as a place to ride if you are good enough to progress to the WorldTour.

One such rider who will hope to make the jump in the next years is Belgium’s Victor Hannes. Just 20, Victor began to establish himself on the Belgian domestic scene as a first-year U23 last year, and has taken the next step in 2024, becoming a rider to follow at UCI races.

Just as he began his first Giro Next Gen, he answered some questions from me about his career so far.

VICTOR HANNES - Intermarché Wanty
Credit: Wanty-ReUz-Technord/First Cycling

“I have had a good season so far I think, and have been able to show myself in some big races. In other races, I have been able to help the team well. Unfortunately, I’ve also had some bad luck in big races, so I couldn’t show myself there.”

Hannes has all-rounder capabilities, but excels on shorter climbs, but also has a nice sprint too. He has shown those skills already, taking 3rd at the big Belgian race GP Vermarc, and also 9th on GC at Circuit des Ardennes.

“I see myself as an all-rounder, but I prefer climbs up to 5km and after a tough race, I also have a good sprint. Long climbs are still a working point for me.”

He also made his debut with the WorldTour team this year, doing Nokere Koerse and Brabantse Pijl. Tactical advice and positioning is what Hannes has taken the most from those two races with the pros.

“It is always a nice experience going along with the pros, I learn a lot from these races. That way you notice how important it is to position well for certain points.”

Mollenaar Victor Hannes eindigt knap derde tussen de profs: “Nochtans  schoten de benen al meteen vol” (Mol) | Het Nieuwsblad Mobile
3rd place in GP Vermarc. Credit: Vel/Het Nieuwsblad

Victor’s goals for the rest of the season are quite clear: get better as a rider and keep getting results, no dount filled with confidence after his Ardennes GC, the best result of his career so far.

“I hope to ride some nice results this year and generally get stronger towards the next few years.”

After the Giro, there are some one-day races before a build-up to the U23 calendar’s toughest stage race (in my opinion at least!): Giro Valle d’Aosta.

“I am now riding the Giro Next Gen, followed by some smaller one-day races to participate in Giro Valle d’Aosta in mid-July normally.”

Given his nationality and punchy characteristics, it is not too surprising to see Hannes select La Doyenne as his dream pro win.

“My dream race to win at the pro level is Liège-Bastogne-Liège.”

Victor Hannes is one of the Wanty family’s brightest young talents, and I have full confidence that he has what it takes to become a pro one day. Keep an eye on him as he continues along his developmental road towards achieving that dream.

Credit: Victor Hannes Facebook page

I wish to thank Victor for taking the time during such a big race to answer my questions, and I wish him all the best for the rest of the season and beyond. You can find his Instagram linked here.

Leave a comment